Hot Mess Mondays: Dear X-tina, Get Your Life!

I was supposed to be taking a hiatus from blogging in order to focus on other projects, but it looks like I’ve been so moved to write tonight.

For the past few months, I have been patiently waiting for Christina Aguilera’s Lotus album to drop. My dreams began to come true when the diva’s lead single, “Your Body” was released in late September. After the bomb that was “Not Myself Tonight” 2 years ago, “Your Body” seemed like the perfect comeback song. It was very strong for a Pop tune, showing off Christina’s tremendous vocal abilities all while keeping a catchy chorus. Yet, despite it’s potential, “Your Body” gradually began to disappear from the charts.

There could be a number of reasons for the failure of X-tina’s single. BUT, I think that the numero uno reason was the lack of promotion. Christina released the music video for “Your Body,” but then didn’t promote it through TV and radio appearances. How is a single supposed to do well when no one knows it exists?

Needless to say, despite the inevitable fade of “Your Body”, I continued to believe that X-tina would deliver in the end. Sadly, I was wrong… Over the past couple of months, there continued to be absolutely no promotion of her album. Teaser videos and singles weren’t even posted on YouTube so that fans could hear what to expect. It was as if the album was imaginary until a little over a week ago when Christina finally found the time to start “selling” Lotus to the public.

I don’t know about you guys, but I have never known a huge artist to begin promoting their music the same week that their album is being released…Side eye.

With that said, Lotus is a pretty solid piece of work. There are a number of songs that could be instant hits with the right love and care. Not to mention, unlike Bionic, all of Lotus works together to create an enjoyable listening experience from beginning to end. Honestly, I could go on and on about how good the album is, but it still won’t change the fact that the promotion for it remains lost. I mean, have you all seen Christina’s AMAs performance?

A couple of days ago I had a conversation with one of my best friends about what X-tina had to do to be back on top. To me, it was pretty simple. During her AMA performance, she first had to sing a beautiful ballad a.k.a. “Blank Page” to remind everyone that she is boss, then she had to get the party started with one of her many hits off the album.

Although Christina made a great choice in performing “Let There Love,” the rest of her performance was just a hot mess train wreck. From her unflattering outfit to the distracting dancers (Did the man really need a huge star over his privates?), everything about Christina’s “comeback moment” was just wrong. At least she sounded good?…Second side eye.

In the words of Tamar Braxton, Christina Aguilera needs to GER HER LIFE! Because right now, she is boo. Her promotion is boo. Her team is boo. Her live performances are boo! And, it all equates to Whomp Whomp city.

p.s. X-tina is my girl and always will be. I’m just mad that I am not in charge of her career because it would appear that my creative vision and promotion strategy for this album is better than her team’s. BOOM, I said it.

Moving on…

If you’re curious about Lotus, try listening to the songs online. Better yet, buy the songs off iTunes! You won’t be sorry.

Side note: This version of “Your Body” from Christina’s appearance on Jimmy Fallon is SO good!

That’s the girl I love! Now, buy her album so I can take her off of Hot Mess Mondays… lol 😉

About binabona
Hello! My name's Bina. I tried the whole blogging game a while back when I wanted to do film reviews, but now I realize that blogging can be so much more than that. I love giving an opinion, and discovering new things to write about. I hope that people enjoy reading the topics that I write about. That's all I really want. :-)

Leave a Reply

