Hot Mess: Olympic Edition

With the London Olympics turning every superior athlete into a celebrity, there’s a lot to discuss. Let’s get it!

1) The media for making a fuss over Gabby Douglas’ hair.

When Douglas became the first African American to win the all-around gymnastics gold medal, Black viewers only seemed to focus on the appearance of her hair. As a black woman, I must admit. I did notice that Gabby’s hair was not “did.” With that said, I was not about to provide any commentary on the matter. Homegirl is not only in the Olympics, but she’s also making history. Who cares about her curls?

p.s. I get that Twitter is where people like to “clown” others. But, maybe it’s time we think before we tweet?  Just sayin’.

2) Anyone giving McKayla Maroney a hard time.

Everyone knows that McKayla is the best female vaulter in the world, but even the best cannot be perfect. McKayla failed to claim the gold medal in the individual women’s vault competition after falling. Poor thing.

Now, people are talking about McKayla’s cold facial expressions. Some have even labeled her a “sore loser” and “brat.”

Am I missing something? If you knew that you were the best, would you be jumping for joy over a silver medal? Absolutely not. There’s nothing wrong with showing a little disgust when things don’t go your way in competition. After all, a true competitor always wants to WIN.

3) Critics of Serena Williams’ victory Crip Walk.

Honestly, if I destroyed another tennis player at the Olympics to win gold, I would dance too. Some people just don’t know when to shut up.

Read the article about Williams’ dancing here –> Serena Williams Crip Walk

4) Reporters for bringing certain financial situations to light.

Over the past few days, all I’ve been hearing is how Ryan Lochte’s parents are facing foreclosure and how Gabby Douglas’ mother is in serious debt. I’m sorry, but when did any of this become the public’s business?

I know that both Gabby and Ryan are receiving massive amounts of attention because of the Olympics, but their parents’ troubles are none of our business.

Side note: It’s totally inappropriate for the media to be asking Gabby about her mother’s filing. The girl is sixteen years old. Let her stay sixteen…#AMess

Like this post? Share it with friends! 🙂

About binabona
Hello! My name's Bina. I tried the whole blogging game a while back when I wanted to do film reviews, but now I realize that blogging can be so much more than that. I love giving an opinion, and discovering new things to write about. I hope that people enjoy reading the topics that I write about. That's all I really want. :-)

2 Responses to Hot Mess: Olympic Edition

  1. handsnface says:

    I enjoyed this article, but i must admit I’m on the fence about cripwalking at the Olympics – just probably the wrong dance to do at that event

    • binabona says:

      I don’t know. Personally, I think that doing the Crip Walk at the Olympics is completely fine. No one is glorifying gangs. Everyone is celebrating athletic achievement. Not to mention, I think the Crip Walk has become so much a part of mainstream culture that it’s no different from performing any other dance. The Olympics is all about fun – I think the media just wanted to stir up trouble.

      Anyways, that’s only my opinion. I’m so glad you enjoyed the post. Hope you keep reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

