Bonus Post: Scream 4 – It’s Pretty Good

Hey boys and girls,

I know it’s been another minute. As always this week was a struggle. There’s just something about a 9 to 5 that’s exhausting! lol Anywho, I figured I make up my lack of writing this week with a bonus post about Scream 4.

Last night, I watched Scream 4 and thought to myself “This movie is actually pretty good!” But, let me explain what “pretty good” really means…

First of all, Scream 4 is a horror/slasher movie.  Therefore, the writing, editing, and acting are not going to be as good as an Oscar nominated feature. Let’s be real… With that said, the overall quality of Scream 4 surpasses any scary movie that I’ve watched in recent years. Directed by Wes Craven, Scream succeeds in producing enough comedic gore, suspense, and mystery to keep the audience hooked the full two hours.

The opening scene of Scream 4 begins with two girlfriends, Trudie and Sherrie (played by 90210’s Shenae Grimes and Dirty Little Liar’s Lucy Hale respectively), on a dark quiet night. As Trudie receives texts from her “hot” anonymous Facebook stalker, Sherrie simultaneously deals with an anonymous prank caller. When the two begin to inquire about each others actions, it’s only a matter of time before both girls realize that their anonymous friends are a lot more than prankers. And, the slashing begins! Oooooooo…lol

Overall, Scream 4 does a great job building up audience excitement by creatively mixing slasher-movie predictability with new twists. It also brilliantly highlights the original Scream actors alongside a new generation of Hollywood talents. While watching Scream 4, you’ll see a lot of familiar faces, including the original’s Courteney Cox and David Arguette, and Scream newbie’s Emma Roberts, Hayden Panettiere, Kristen Bell, and Rory Culkin (Macaulay Culkin’s younger brother). Not to mention, the return of Neve Campbell’s character, Sidney Prescott, is like icing on the cake.

Side note: It’s been a while since I’ve really seen Neve in anything, so it’s nice to see her return to her roots.

Anyways…

If you’re wanting to see Scream 4, I say go for it! You shouldn’t be disappointed if you’re a fan of all the others. 🙂

About binabona
Hello! My name's Bina. I tried the whole blogging game a while back when I wanted to do film reviews, but now I realize that blogging can be so much more than that. I love giving an opinion, and discovering new things to write about. I hope that people enjoy reading the topics that I write about. That's all I really want. :-)

Leave a Reply

