Hot Mess Mondays: The Grammys

Good morning boys and girls!

I’m sure everyone is aware that today is Valentine’s Day. Whether you have that “special someone” to share your evening with or not, Valentine’s Day can always be about so much more than just one person. It is a day to show love, and there is plenty of love and roses to go around. 🙂

Anyways, enough with this V-day mumbo jumbo. I know why you’re really here, so let’s get it!

1) Lady Gaga for being born this way – a mess.

Last night, Gaga arrived on the Grammy red carpet inside of an egg shaped pod. Now, as much as I want to love Gaga, I just can’t support her antics anymore. She is always trying to top her own ridiculousness, and quite frankly I’m becoming a little annoyed. There’s a difference between being different and unique, and being a desperate attention-seeker. Unfortunately, Gaga is starting to become the latter. Not to mention, her new song “Born This Way” also has me on edge. Gaga’s new single honestly reminds me of everything that’s been done in the late eighties, early nineties, and I definitely understand the Madonna comparison. Regardless of its unoriginal style, however, I just actually don’t like the song. I’m a little disappointed and hope that the rest of her new music will be better….

p.s. Many of Gaga’s little monsters think “Born This Way” is the best thing since sliced bread. Why am I not surprised?…

2) Whoever attacked Esperanza Spalding’s Wikipedia page.

If you watched the Grammys last night or the news this morning, then you are probably aware of the “controversy” surrounding Best New Artist winner, Esperanza Spalding. Many people were flabbergasted when the Oregon native jazz singer took home the trophy over public favorite, Justin Bieber. Therefore, it was no surprise when not-so-nice comments were left on Esperanza Spalding’s Wikipedia page.

Honestly, I’m not really that upset that Esperanza won. Even though I had no idea who she was before last night, I trust that she was both nominated and voted winner by the academy for a reason. I checked out some of her music after the Grammys, and the sound is pretty good. I’m not really into jazz, but I liked it. With that said, during my investigation of her, I realized that she’s been out for a minute, which leaves the question, “Why was she nominated for Best New Artist?” At least homegirl has a really nice style… 😉

3) Everyone who arrived to the Grammys looking a hot mess.

Nicki Minaj

Katy Perry

There were plenty of crazy fashion statements being made on the red carpet this year, but these two were just some of the worst! lol I know that artists are known to wear crazy outfits to the Grammys, but the show is not a Halloween extravaganza. Just sayin…

4) Rihanna and Eminem for performing that stupid song again!

A lot of people love Eminem’s “Love The Way You Lie,” featuring Rihanna. At one point, I did too. But honestly, if I have to hear this stupid song one more time, I’m going to go crazy…Not to mention, Rihanna can never perform the song well live. Can she just use playback please? It would be so much better, and no one would mind. Like, really. 😉

Side Note: One of my favorite performances from last night was Justin Bieber, Usher, and Jaden Smith. Too cute!

To watch some of the Grammy performances again click here –> Grammys 2011

About binabona
Hello! My name's Bina. I tried the whole blogging game a while back when I wanted to do film reviews, but now I realize that blogging can be so much more than that. I love giving an opinion, and discovering new things to write about. I hope that people enjoy reading the topics that I write about. That's all I really want. :-)

Leave a Reply

