Music Tuesdays: Whatever Floats Your Boat

It’s no surprise that many of the music out there today is not a hundred percent original. Music artists have always been known to sample tracks from others. The question is “Which version of these songs floats your boat more?”

First up is Nicki Minaj’s “Your Love.”

“”Your Love” was the second single released off of Nicki’s upcoming album, Pink Friday. It climbed all the way to the top of the Rap/Hip Hop charts.

Most people probably don’t know, however, that the song was sampled from Annie Lennox’s “No More I Love You’s.” Below are the music videos for both “Your Love” and “No More I Love You’s.”

Nicki Minaj – “Your Love”

Annie Lennox – “No More I Love You’s”

Next Up…

B.o.B.’s “The Kids”

Recently, one of my friend’s introduced me to B.o.B’s “The Kids.” Although I promoted B.o.B. before his album came out, I must admit that I have yet to listen to it in its entirety. With that said, when I heard “The Kids,” which features Janelle Monae, I immediately fell in love with the song.

It’s funny because the day after hearing “The Kids,” I heard the original “The Kids Don’t Stand A Chance” by Vampire Weekend in the AT&T store. I thought to myself, “Hmmm….this song sounds familiar.” lol Go figure.

Here are videos for both songs.

Vampire Weekend – “The Kids Don’t Stand A Chance”

B.o.B. ft. Janelle Monae – “The Kids”

Personally, I love Janelle Monae’s voice, but I am also really feeling the original song by Vampire Weekend. 🙂

**Honestly, this post could go on FOREVER. lol So many songs have been sampled.

I think sampling is a good thing. Otherwise, I would never find out about some really awesome bands, especially those not from America.

Anyways, if you’re interested in which of your favorite songs have been sampled from other artists, then you should check out this website —> Who Sampled. Whosampled.com is attempting to build the ultimate collection of “music DNA.”  It’s pretty cool! 🙂

About binabona
Hello! My name's Bina. I tried the whole blogging game a while back when I wanted to do film reviews, but now I realize that blogging can be so much more than that. I love giving an opinion, and discovering new things to write about. I hope that people enjoy reading the topics that I write about. That's all I really want. :-)

One Response to Music Tuesdays: Whatever Floats Your Boat

  1. cfvergel says:

    love this post~

Leave a Reply

