Film Fridays pt. 2: My Take On Takers

Technically, it’s not Friday, but let’s just pretend for the sake of this post. lol As promised, I saw Takers, and there’s much to talk about.

If I had to describe Takers in one word, I would simply say that this movie was FLY.  Immediately after the opening scene, I was hit with a series of shots highlighting the glitz and glam of Los Angeles. Whoever styled the characters in this movie, especially Hayden Christensen, did a fantastic job!

My love for Hayden definitely went up a level after watching Takers. He was the epitome of fly, and definitely played more of a major role in the film than I anticipated along with T.I.

Speaking of T.I., I cannot forget about the stylishly tailored suits worn by him, Idris Elba, Michael Ealy, and Paul Walker. These guys’ clothes were so nice that throughout most of the movie my attention was drawn more to the characters’ looks and dress than to the actual plot. lol Is that a bad thing? I don’t think so. Let’s face it… You don’t get an ensemble cast of Hollywood’s most beautiful men, so that people will see the movie for the story. Just sayin…..

Anyways….

Because this is the opening weekend for Takers, I will not give away the plot. However, I will commend T.I. on his performance as Ghost, a former “taker” and convicted felon, whose gamble plays a major role throughout the film. Also, T.I.’s  really not too shabby of an actor, and got to show off plenty of acting chops in this movie. I also want to applaud Chris Brown for his running and jumping skills. Even the audience whooped and hollered for him as he dashed through L.A. traffic, which everyone knows is DANGEROUS. lol

Side note: I never paid attention to Idris Elba until this movie. Now, Mr. Elba will definitely be on my watch. 😉

Anyways, if I had to sum up Takers in a  four line review, I would simply say……

“Filled with enough style, action, and drama, Takers is your classic heist film. With a star-studded ensemble cast, Takers does not have enough time to develop a backstory for each individual character. However, the  overall storyline does allow the audience to experience a fun-filled ride that for the most part seems neither rushed nor forced. And, if there’s one message that Takers is going to leave you with by its end, it’s that money is always up for the taking.”

Check it out! It’s always fun to root for the bad guys. lol

p.s. Shout out to T.I. and Michael Ealy for also helping to produce the film. There’s a reason this “mainstream” movie has a lot of black faces…. 😉

About binabona
Hello! My name's Bina. I tried the whole blogging game a while back when I wanted to do film reviews, but now I realize that blogging can be so much more than that. I love giving an opinion, and discovering new things to write about. I hope that people enjoy reading the topics that I write about. That's all I really want. :-)

2 Responses to Film Fridays pt. 2: My Take On Takers

  1. Pingback: World Wide News Flash

  2. Ginger says:

    Looking forward to seing this. Sounds like there will be a lot of eye candy here. I loved Hayden in Awake.

    Can I ask – What country are you blogging from? The date is Sept 2 already. My day isn’t over yet. I’ve still got 4 hrs to go!!!!

Leave a Reply

