Film Fridays: Who wants to be taken?

I do!

As some of you may know, today marks the opening of Takers, a movie about a group of bank robbers and their last job. Honestly, I am only seeing this film tonight because of its ensemble cast. Michael Ealy, Paul Walker, Hayden Christensen, Idris Elba, Zoe Saldana, Chris Brown, T.I., Matt Dillon, and Jay Hernandez all star in this action-packed heist genre film. Despite its big name cast, Takers, has been receiving mostly negative reviews. Personally, I could care less what reviews are out there for a film if I’ve already mustered up the interest to see it. And, with this many beautiful people in one movie, my shallow side has done enough for a ticket purchase. lol Not to mention, I am simply a Hayden Christensen and Michael Ealy fan. I haven’t seen either of them in anything for a while, so it will be nice to see them on the big screen. I also don’t mind if the movie doesn’t have much of a plot or character development. The Expendables failed in those areas, but still managed to bring the entertainment. So, we’ll see. After I watch the movie, expect a full review from me. I’ll be sure to let you know if Takers is worth the 12 bucks. 😉

Here’s the trailer for Takers.

Also….

As promised, I thought long and hard about what movie to recommend for the weekend. Because Takers is about a group of bank robbers, I’d say Ocean’s 11 would be a good flick for the weekend. And, no, I’m not talking about the George Clooney, Brad Pitt version. I’m talking about the original “Eee-O Eleven,” starring America’s own Rat Pack. For those of you, who do not know the movie, I can only hope that the names Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin,  Peter Lawford, and Sammy Davis Jr. ring some sort of bell. If they don’t, then perhaps it’s not a bad idea for you to consider the 1960 classic. I promise it’s entertaining.

And because, I’m so nice and thoughtful, here is the video on YouTube to part 1 of the film. Some people are opposed to watching movies on YouTube, BUT I think that everyone should take advantage. As a Film and Media Studies major in college, I don’t know what I would’ve done without YouTube. America’s film history is all over the site. I say make a playlist of some of you fave movies, sit back, relax, and enjoy the show – all from your computer. With that said, Blockbusters and movie rentals still manage to exist across the country. I’m sure you can find Ocean’s 11. Enjoy!

p.s. If you don’t like credits, fast forward to the 3 minute mark. 😉

Also, if these old school films, don’t entertain you, don’t worry! I’ll be sure to switch up the decades of recommendations. There are plenty of more recent movies to go around. lol

About binabona
Hello! My name's Bina. I tried the whole blogging game a while back when I wanted to do film reviews, but now I realize that blogging can be so much more than that. I love giving an opinion, and discovering new things to write about. I hope that people enjoy reading the topics that I write about. That's all I really want. :-)

4 Responses to Film Fridays: Who wants to be taken?

    • binabona says:

      Oh no, that makes me sad. Does Paul Walker really become the star in it? Because I’m not seeing it for him….lol I’ll actually be seeing it tomorrow for a matinee. I’ll be sure to posts my observations.

  1. Nicolas Milagro Chapa says:

    T.I. provided all the weaponry for this movie 🙂

    I would recommend downloading the movie online

Leave a Reply

