The Last Airbender – It Wasn’t As Bad As The Prince of Persia

A lot of people are upset over the newest summer blockbuster The Last Airbender. I never followed the cartoon, and after having seen the movie, I can understand the sore emotions. At the end of the feature, I’m pretty sure that someone yelled “That was terrible!” in the theater as the credits rolled.

If I had to give a short review of the film, I would simply say that the movie went from horrible to bad to okay to decent. Honestly, when The Last Airbender first began, I was a little nervous. The dialogue kept throwing me more and more out of the storyline. It was some of the worst dialogue I have ever heard in a movie, rivaling Prince of Persia’s. And, just so we’re clear Mr. Shyamalan, when a child races over to his guardian, screaming “Father!” he does not then need to tell the other characters around him, “This is my father!” I’m pretty sure both the characters and the audience are smart enough to figure out the relation.

With that said, I am not completely disappointed in the movie. Since I didn’t watch the cartoon, I was not heartbroken that Shyamalan almost destroyed it with his sometimes terrible camera angles, character development, and dialogue. However, I do understand the negative reviews that the movie has been receiving. At least, I’m now curious enough to watch the cartoon, right? Something about the plot was definitely compelling, and if the cartoon is WAY better than the movie, then I’m totally on board to find it online.

Side Note: Hollywood really needs to work on its blatant placing of white characters in the middle of “minority” groups. I never watched the cartoon. Nonetheless, I find it funny that two white characters, Katara and Sokka, would come from a tribe of a Inuit looking people. I don’t care if Katara and Sokka look “ambiguously white” in the cartoon. It just wasn’t realistic in the film.  I also find it funny that since none of the tribes in the film are “black” that execs found the need to put a token black face (i.e. the monk) in the film. It’s okay Paramount. I think audiences will forgive you if none of the characters are black, especially if none of the tribes are black. Your color quota was fulfilled with the fire tribe. 😉

Also, whoever hired the guy, who plays Sokka, should be fired! The boy looks okay, but he definitely can’t act.

Anyways…..

If you haven’t seen The Last Airbender, and are curious, go see it. If you love and adore the cartoon and are worried that the movie might destroy it for you, don’t see it. And, definitely don’t pay for a 3D ticket. It’s not worth it. When the writing and directing gets better, then spend the extra bucks.

p.s. I have watched plenty of M. Night Shyamalan films, and it seems that the writer, director, and producer is getting worse and worse with time. Just sayin….Maybe he’ll get it right for the next film. That is only if Paramount gives him the next movie…..Let us pray that a contract has not been put in place, and they don’t. lol 😉

The Last Airbender Review

About binabona
Hello! My name's Bina. I tried the whole blogging game a while back when I wanted to do film reviews, but now I realize that blogging can be so much more than that. I love giving an opinion, and discovering new things to write about. I hope that people enjoy reading the topics that I write about. That's all I really want. :-)

2 Responses to The Last Airbender – It Wasn’t As Bad As The Prince of Persia

  1. Truly says:

    Thanks for the review. Seems like I should just wait for the bootleg copy and the watch with comedic intent or a bottle of rum at my side. Once you watch the cartoon (of which I am an avid fan), you will TRULY see how bad the adaptation was/is. The commercials make it seem like the greatest thing since sliced bread and make me want to see the cool tricks someone can do with water, fire, earth, and air. Based on your review, I will just stick with doing cool tricks using these 4 elements with my 9 year old’s science experiments book! At least in that regard there will be an educational component.
    The ethnic thing… don’t get me started….but in short, I agree. Don’t feel guilty that there are no black characters. Billiions of films don’t have any people of color, however I understand the need to have SOME color in this film, since it is clearly based on an asian inspired / themed storyline. . . but were there any Asians in the film….? Hmmmmm….

    • binabona says:

      Haha. Yeah, it sounds like you have the right plan. As for Asians in the film, well….There were plenty of Asian extras. Some of them had small speaking parts, but you can pretty much see what the main characters looked like in the trailers. Technically, there was plenty of color depicted in the film. But yes, the race conversation could go in so many directions, but the movie is definitely a bootlegger lol

Leave a Reply

