No More Cruise Control

Well folks, it looks like Tom Cruise won’t be getting the comeback success he hoped for. Despite all of the promotions and interviews, Knight and Day nabbed the third spot at the weekend box office with $20.5 mil. Beating out Knight and Day were Toy Story 3 and Adam Sandler’s comedy Grown Ups. Honestly, I am not surprised that Toy Story 3 continues to be the #1 movie in the country.

After making over $100 mil in its first weekend, Toy Story 3 most certainly was going to have a lot of steam going into round 2. Not to mention, people of all ages love the little guys. As for Grown Ups, I have no idea why this movie made $40 mil opening weekend. The trailers were horrific and not the slightest bit funny. Then again, I have never found Adam Sandler to be funny, but I guess the man has a strong following…..I also can’t forget that Sandler is not the only star in this film. Kevin James, David Spade, and Chris Rock are all funnymen who can hold their own.

Anyways, I will continue to support Tom Cruise just like I will X-tina. No matter how much their projects may flop, I can always count on them to entertain me. 🙂

Side Note: I randomly saw The A-team this weekend. This movie is good!!! Hollywood can’t figure out why it hasn’t succeeded with audiences, but have you seen the trailers? They’re terrible. If I was in charge of the marketing team for this movie, I would just assume that no one knows what or who The A-team was or is. Instead of banking on people to remember the television show from the 80s, Hollywood execs should have just been like “Hi young adults in America! Here is a totally new and original concept!” Some one should really let me lead movie promotions one day. lol Just saying…..Anyways, go check it out. If you like action adventure movies, this one is a sure winner! Plus, who doesn’t love Liam Neeson?

Moving on….

Because we at I People Watch also care about the music world, we must congratulate Drake for selling over 400,000 copies of Thank Me Later. Not bad for the newbie. Definitely beat X-tina’s sales…X-tina is currently holding down the number 9 spot.

Also, apparently Eminem will be seeing A LOT of billboard success in the near future. His album Recovery is predicted to have sold over 600,000 copies in its first week. Go Em! I used to be a fan of Eminem, but have fallen off. With that said, he’s a great rapper and deserves the success. 🙂

What do you think about this week’s box office and chart toppers? A curious mind wants to know. Leave a comment!

About binabona
Hello! My name's Bina. I tried the whole blogging game a while back when I wanted to do film reviews, but now I realize that blogging can be so much more than that. I love giving an opinion, and discovering new things to write about. I hope that people enjoy reading the topics that I write about. That's all I really want. :-)

Leave a Reply

