Who Could Play Them Now?

For some time now, I have been trying to brainstorm another “Celebrity Look-Alike” themed post. Sadly, I’ve been having some animal matching trouble lol. With that said, I thought it would be cool to look at the Hollywood stars of yesteryear and see which of today’s celebs had the looks to pull off old Hollywood royalty. Some of you may even remember when Halle Berry played Dorothy Dandridge or when James Franco transformed into James Dean. Unbelievable, the resemblance between the actors and their roles!

So, Let’s see….

Natalie Wood –

Natalie Wood is probably best known nowadays for her role as Maria in the Hollywood masterpiece, West Side Story. She starred as a child actress in Miracle on 34th Street and alongside James Dean in Rebel Without A Cause. If you’re lucky and into old classics, you may be fortunate enough to come across one of her most popular films, Gypsy, on television. I watched it just the other day on Turner Classic Movies.

If I were to find a potential face for The Life of Natalie Wood, I think I would have to go with….

Katy Holmes!

Both actresses have the adorable childish face with brown locks, big droopy eyes, and an quirky smile to top of their looks. Their eyebrows are even shaped the same!

Next Up: Paul Newman

The beautiful  Paul Newman had a career that spanned a lifetime. Some of his earlier films include Exodus, Hombre, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, and The Sting. Newman won an Oscar for his role as “Fast” Eddie Felson  in Martin Scorsese’s The Color of Money.

I was first introduced to Newman when I went with my parents to see  2002’s Road to Perdition. Since then, I have come across random Newman films on TCM. After seeing what Newman looked like back in his heyday, today’s Newman look-alike is without a doubt Matthew McConaughey!

With the boyish all-American looks, similar face structure, dirty blond hair, and charming blue eyes, McConaughey could easily play Newman.

Paul Newman

Matthew McConaughey

Now, the question is “Who’s hotter?”  lol I might have to go with Newman on this one…..

Fun Fact: Paul Newman was colorblind.

Next Up: Eartha Kitt

Eartha Kitt was a famous actress and singer, who originally sang the 1953 hit “Santa Baby.” She is also known for her role as Catwoman in the old Batman television series. If you’re unfamiliar with Kitt’s work, you may recognize her as the voice of Yzma in Disney’s The Emperor’s New Groove.

Yzma

So, who could play Eartha Kitt today????

With catlike eyes, photo-ready cheekbones, a slim figure and a fearless attitude towards acting, Zoe Saldana would be the perfect candidate!

All Zoe would have to do is curl and pin up the hair. A thickening of her eyebrows would help to. Nonetheless, I definitely see it!

Last Up: Ava Gardner

Last, but not least, we have the Ms. Ava Gardner. Ava is known for her roles in The Killers, Show Boat, and Mogambo for which she won an Oscar. Ava has been called one of the most beautiful stars of her time.

So, who could play Gardner now?

Jessica Biel?

This one might be more of a stretch…. but after all the brainstorming Ms. Biel seems like a potential match. Biel has been known to complain about how beautiful she is, so maybe she can play one of the most beautiful actresses’ in Hollywood. Question is – Does Biel have the acting chops?

**What do you think? Know of any more celebs that could play an old Hollywood star? Leave a comment!

About binabona
Hello! My name's Bina. I tried the whole blogging game a while back when I wanted to do film reviews, but now I realize that blogging can be so much more than that. I love giving an opinion, and discovering new things to write about. I hope that people enjoy reading the topics that I write about. That's all I really want. :-)

7 Responses to Who Could Play Them Now?

  1. Jay-Marie says:

    When I first saw that picture of Eartha Kitt, I have to admit my mind went more towards Kimberly Elise (specifically her performance in Diary of a Mad Black Woman): http://ia.media-imdb.com/images/M/MV5BNjc4OTg2MTE4NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwNDMzNzQ3._V1._SX475_SY369_.jpg

    I feel like Zoe’s a little to naturally-happy looking/sounding. Anyone who can play Catwoman & voice a character mike Yzma needs to have a little more spunk in both their voice & attitude. Thoughts?

    • binabona says:

      Huh. I’ve actually never heard of Kimberly Elise. I will look her up! Also, I don’t know if any of these actors could ACTUALLY play the old stars lol I don’t know if they’re talented enough….(Harsh, I know..) with maybe the exception of Zoe Saldana, who I’ve seen commit to roles. Zoe may seem nice, but she actually started off as being the tough character, plus she can sing. Sometimes actors surprise us when they push themselves to portray another star accurately, and I’d be curious to see if she could do Kitt. With that said, the post was more for who physically resembles old Hollywood.

    • binabona says:

      Okay, I’m such a mess because you definitely said Diary of a Mad Black Woman, and I think you’re on to something! I totally forgot about her. She also has the look of a Eartha Kitt for sure. I guess it’s a match up between the two actresses lol Honestly, I always see both of them being so serious! Eartha Kitt was a wild/crazy/fun personality, so it would be interesting to give them both a screen test. And, this is why I like when people comment. 😉

  2. cfvergel says:

    shoot. i completely agree with your choices!

  3. John says:

    I knew I wasn’t the only one who saw a lot of Paul Newman in Matthew McConaughey! He looks as though he can be his biological son!

  4. Susan Higgins says:

    The sophistication of Ava Gardner could only be played by Angelina Jolie. Her beauty leaves many speechless an Ava did the same to the general population. The public’s fascination with Jolie-Pitt is reminiscent of Gardner-Sinatra but on a current day scale. You nailed it with Natalie Wood /Katie Holmes. Jessica Biel seems more Veronica Lake to me.

Leave a Reply

