A Sad Billboard and A Boring Box Office

By now, everyone knows that I am a X-tina fan. With that said, the popstar’s singles don’t seem to be faring too well on the Billboard charts. I have only heard “Not Myself Tonight” once on the radio, and “Woohoo” just debuted at #79 on the top 100. I think I’m missing something.  I mean….granted, “Not Myself Tonight” created a huge war between Gaga and X-tina fans. But is X-tina really losing?

Personally, I think that “Woohoo” is definitely on point. The sound is more original, and I envision a video that is far from Gaga comparison. This song needs to climb up the charts!!! lol X-tina can’t let Ms. Perry have the only summer hit in June.  I’m starting to think that X-tina’s album should be pushed back from June 8th. Otherwise, she’s relying solely on her fans to buy it on release day instead of increasing sales with newer consumers. We’ll see what happens though. In the meantime, can X-tina get more love on the radio??? Just sayin’…..I guess those Gaga comparisons are doing way more harm than good…

Btws…Lady Gaga will be releasing her music video for “Alejandro” very soon. Check out the sneak peek on her website. It reminds me of Madonna…;)

Lady Gaga Alejandro

p.s. Is it just me or is Gaga’s music and look nowadays just entirely too random? I love both it and her, but who is she as an artist? Just eccentric? She can’t just do EVERYTHING that’s different. That leaves no room for other “weird” newbies. Perhaps that’s what Gaga wants, but that’s not what I want. lol I like new talent, and it would be great if they could enter the industry without the Gaga comparison. At least, Madonna changed her look and sound over decades, not within her first year as a huge artist…

Anyways….

As for the Memorial Day weekend box office, it looks like Hollywood made less money than expected. Thus far, the summer films are not meeting the expectations of their studios. Honestly, I’m not that surprised. Prince of Persia was, in my opinion, a hot mess. Therefore, it’s mere 37.8 mil was expected. As far as for the other films, Variety reports that Shrek, Robin Hood, and Iron Man 2 are still under-performing.

Looks like Hollywood needs to come harder and produce some more original and quality material. Although I am excited for new releases like Angelina Jolie’s Salt, I am getting a little bored with the constant franchise additions and remakes. And, seeing as though there are three assassins films scheduled to be released, this summer will show whether or not other moviegoers agree.

About binabona
Hello! My name's Bina. I tried the whole blogging game a while back when I wanted to do film reviews, but now I realize that blogging can be so much more than that. I love giving an opinion, and discovering new things to write about. I hope that people enjoy reading the topics that I write about. That's all I really want. :-)

2 Responses to A Sad Billboard and A Boring Box Office

  1. rorydean says:

    Hi’ya…quick note, found your note on themoviebros.wordpress.com blog and wanted to share in the collective community, also admittedly to attract more people to my own blog at http://www.rorydean.wordpress.com. I noticed your thoughts on the new Disney vehicle, Prince of Persia – what with all the controversy and what not most likely going to hurt the box office receipts. I think the summer season is getting off to a bad start too but we have some heavy hitters heading to the theaters soon and maybe things will pick up. Wanted to add that Hollywood’s real ‘bread and butter’ does come from the remakes, the franchise films (like Spiderman, Iron Man, etc.,) so we can’t beat them up too much about that. My real complaint is not shuffling enough smaller, character and story driven films into the mix. Yeah, they are there, but usually in limited release and they hardly fair well against the metroplex machines. cheers-{

    • binabona says:

      Hey! I totally agree with you about putting other smaller films into the mix. I know that remakes and sequels are definitely necessary, seeing as though they’re what’s keeping Hollywood afloat at the moment.

      With that said, there are always new ways to tell the same story over again. The new Batman franchise is a great example of that. I think my problem is when there’s a lack of creativity and effort put into both the script and the film. If you’re going to spend over 100 mil producing a film, then make sure the film is quality! Prince of Persia was terrible and from what I hear about Shrek, the green ogre is not much better. However, Iron Man 2 was good, and I haven’t seen Robin Hood, so I cannot speak on that yet.

Leave a Reply

