Can Anyone Dethrone Bieber???

As you guys already know, I dig Justin Bieber. His song “Baby” has definitely been on repeat in my iTunes. With that said, I still can’t believe how much success the little sunspot is having. Once again, Bieber’s My World 2.0 holds the #1 spot on the Billboard 200. Not even our darling Charice Pempengco’s self-titled first-internationally released album, could dethrone it.

Ms. Pempengco’s album debuted at number 8, which causes me to wonder whether or not Americans are ready for the Filipina star. Though she has managed to build a following, Charice’s name is still not known amongst the masses stateside, and in my opinion her people need to figure out a way to get younger kids listening to her music.

Charice Mania

p.s. Charice’s album cover is fierce!

Check out Charice’s most recent Oprah performance below.

Charice has the potential to appeal to both younger and older consumers. Anyways, we’ll see how the album fares later on. Sometimes artists can have low debuts, and then all of sudden gain massive popularity. It all depends on how much money, time, and effort their record labels want to spend on them. I’m sure hers has her back though. After all, she is an Oprah and Ellen favorite.

Speaking of Ellen, it looks like Ellen has finally discovered 6th grade talent Greyson Chance, who by chance created a YouTube buzz around his video of him singing Lady Gaga’s “Paparazzi.” After reports that Greyson was signed to Interscope Records, Greyson’s parents told the media that they would seek guidance from multiple people before signing any contracts. Well, it looks like Greyson is now the first artist signed to Ellen’s label eleveneleven.

Ellen Degeneres Starts Label, Signs Greyson Chance

Here’s the video that made Greyson a star.

What do you think? Is Greyson the next Justin Bieber?

Even though I admire Greyson’s voice and raw talent, I don’t know if we can call him the next Justin Bieber just yet. Bieber seems to have cornered the market for the all cute scrawny white boys on YouTube, at least for the moment. With that said, if we are moving towards another bubblegum Pop phase, then there is definitely room for two little white boys, plus some boy bands lol. Awwwww….All this talk of Bieber and Greyson is reminding me of the period when Christina Aguilera and Britney Spears were clear Pop rivals.

Remember when they were innocent?

Christina Aguilera

Britney Spears

The good ol’ days…. 🙂

About binabona
Hello! My name's Bina. I tried the whole blogging game a while back when I wanted to do film reviews, but now I realize that blogging can be so much more than that. I love giving an opinion, and discovering new things to write about. I hope that people enjoy reading the topics that I write about. That's all I really want. :-)

One Response to Can Anyone Dethrone Bieber???

  1. mattvolke says:

    Wow… that Chance kid can really sing!

Leave a Reply

