Thou Shalt Kill

Once again, Hollywood’s little worker bees have been slavin away to produce the best honey – in this case a string of competing assassin/secret agent themed movies scheduled to be released this summer. Personally, after seeing Mr. and Mrs. Smith a few years back, I am in favor of these types of movies as long as they are done well. However, with Killers, Knight and Day, and Salt all being released back to back, I don’t know if I can take all of the loud shooting. It’s already killing me! **pun intended lol

Anyways, Hollywood’s little worker bees are trying to pull a fast one on us mere peasants. Deep down the little buzzers know that during the summer, everyone sees almost every movie. Therefore, the repetitive theme for this summer doesn’t seem to be an issue (at least not to them). Though I am not upset with these similarly themed films, I will say that there is no way that I will be paying to watch all of them. At least one of the suckers is going to be cut from my viewing lineup. So, now my question is “Which one?”

Hmmm…Maybe breaking down the movies will help. Let’s see…

Killers

Starring Ashton Kutcher and Katherine Heigl, Killers is about a woman, who while on vacation, falls in love with a man, only to find out later that he is a CIA agent. Some original stuff, huh? lol I do like the advertisement though. Unfortunately, neither Kutcher nor Heigl do it for me. Kutcher can be funny sometimes, but Heigl….Her role on Grey’s Anatomy made me want to gag. She was ALWAYS so whiny and psycho lol

Here’s the trailer –

What do you think?

Knight and Day


Alright, I am honestly just excited to see Tom Cruise have some shine. After his whole  couch jumping incident on Oprah and Brooke Shields postpartum commentary, even I was turned off for a minute, but now I really really miss him..lol  I mean, who doesn’t love Tom Cruise? Look at him. He’s screaming bad-ass in the pic above. Some of those other stars I named last time need to take some lessons….

Knight and Day is about a secret agent (Cruise), who goes on a blind date with an unassuming young lady (Diaz) before taking her on one crazy adventure. Check the trailer!

I’m pretty sure that I will see this movie. I’ll take Cruise and Diaz over Kutcher and Heigl anytime!

Salt


Now, we’re talking. Angelina Jolie pretty much was born to play an assassin.  At first I was a little hesitant about her in this role. I just don’t want her to be type-cast since she’s already been an assassin twice in Mr. and Mrs. Smith and Wanted. But hey, if she can continue to do these roles and bring in the box-office bucks, then more power to her.

In Salt, Jolie will play  Evelyn Salt, a CIA agent who must clear her name after being accused of working for the Soviet Union. Check the trailer!

And to think that this role was originally intended for Tom Cruise…

This summer should be pretty interesting to say the very least. After weighing the options, Knight and Day and Salt are looking like the clear assassin winners of my summer. Regardless of what I want to see, however,  I’m sure people will be sticking to Hollywood’s honey all summer long.  We’ll see what happens come June….

About binabona
Hello! My name's Bina. I tried the whole blogging game a while back when I wanted to do film reviews, but now I realize that blogging can be so much more than that. I love giving an opinion, and discovering new things to write about. I hope that people enjoy reading the topics that I write about. That's all I really want. :-)

Leave a Reply

