Old Skool Tear-Jerkers

It was just last night, when I thought to myself “Hmmm Bina, what should you write about next?” That’s when I randomly got on Youtube and started watching old music videos. Finally, I wound up at Celine Dion’s performance of the 1997 hit song “My Heart Will Go On.” At first, my Youtube searching seemed pretty random, but then I realized that everything that I searched for touched my heart in some form or fashion while growing up. I think that many of us love to reminisce about the past, especially those of us who appreciated our childhoods and the songs and shows that came with them.

So, let’s take a walk down memory lane, and remember some of those songs that warmed our hearts. Nothing can beat the music from the 90s and early 2000s. I don’t care what anyone else says.

Celine Dion – “Meart Heart Will Go On”

If there was such a thing as the perfect song, then Celine’s “My Heart Will Go On” off the “Titanic” soundtrack would be it. There’s enough emotion in the music video that no one ever has to watch the actual movie to get a tear.

Also, here’s a link to the Celine performance that served as inspiration for today’s post. Celine Dion – Titanic Live

Boys II Men and Mariah Carey – “One Sweet Day”

As separate performance entities, Boys II Men and Mariah could both make me cry. It’s not a surprise that they made my list as a partnership.

Aerosmith – “I Don’t Wanna Miss A Thing”

Like most tear-jerking songs, Aerosmith’s “I Don’t Wanna Miss A Thing” was written for the soundtrack to a great movie (i.e. “Armageddon”). I don’t think anyone could forget the unbelievably sad/happy/hopeful  ending of that film.

Goo Goo Dolls – “Iris”

This might be my favorite song of life. I never saw “City of Angels”, but as the film’s main song off the soundtrack, it’s extremely well done. Love you Goo Goo Dolls for sure.

Puff Daddy ft. Faith Evans – “Be Missing You”

I loved the MTV performance of this song so much that I had to include it instead of the actual music video. All of us can remember when violence took both Biggie and Tupac from us. Oh back in the day when P. Diddy was Puffy…If you really want to see the original music video, you know I was not about to disappoint. Click Here – Ill Be Missing You

**Of course, these five songs are not the only Tear-jerkers from back in the day. There are plenty of great songs. Feel free to leave a comment, saying what your favorite music tear-jerkers are.

p.s. When I originally started writing I People Watch, it was not my intention to have a blog full of posts about music. That must say something, right? Music is something that touches everyone’s soul and will always continue to do so. 🙂

About binabona
Hello! My name's Bina. I tried the whole blogging game a while back when I wanted to do film reviews, but now I realize that blogging can be so much more than that. I love giving an opinion, and discovering new things to write about. I hope that people enjoy reading the topics that I write about. That's all I really want. :-)

One Response to Old Skool Tear-Jerkers

  1. uhrelis says:

    i am obsessed with your blog.

Leave a Reply

