Ms. Jackson If You’re Nasty

Or shall we say Ms.   Jackson if you’re crazy? If you were living under a box for the past few weeks, then you might have missed that Janet Jackson was starring in Tyler Perry’s highly anticipated Why Did I Get Married Too, the sequel to Why Did I Get Married, which debuted yesterday in theaters. Although I loved Why Did I Get Married, I can’t say that I was on board to see the second film. However, after having received a pre-paid ticket for the movie, I could not resist, and overall am glad that I went. Without a doubt Why Did I Get Married Too was packed with drama, comedy, action, suspense, and even a few questionable moments of improvisation. And regardless of its flaws (i.e. its extremely ridiculous ending….you can do better Tyler! Lol), the movie was inarguably entertaining.

Anyways, back to the purpose of this post. Personally, I do not care what anyone says. For me, Ms. Jackson definitely stole the show in Why Did I Get Married Too with her performance as Patricia, an extremely troubled wife.  As someone who has grown up watching Janet, I must admit that I did not know the girl had so many emotions in her to give to the silver screen. Often times Janet is so shy and timid, it is baffling to anyone how she is able to go on stage and perform.

Without a doubt, Janet’s portrayal of the Patricia was beyond honest. In the film, the more Patricia tried to hide the problems in her marriage from her friends, the more Janet’s performance pulled viewers right in. Granted Janet will not be receiving any Oscar nominations for smashing a few tables. Yet, her performance is worth receiving some sort of recognition. For that reason, I am just going to be extremely extra, and reward Janet with the Entertaining Bina Award for Best Female Performance in a Tyler Perry original…. because I really have to wonder about the potential positive attention Janet would have received had her role not been an angry black woman in a TP production….

For those of you, who have yet to see the movie, go see it if you’re looking for a really good laugh. If you like Tyler Perry, then most likely you will thoroughly enjoy it. Also, a fair warning, the ending will not live up to your expectations, so IGNORE it lol. As for Janet, pay attention to her acting abilities in the film. She had to give a lot to this role, including giving up eyeliner and mascara for sweat and tears. Ms. Janet is definitely the People Watch star of the weekend. Get it!

Watch the Why Did I Get Married Too trailer here!

About binabona
Hello! My name's Bina. I tried the whole blogging game a while back when I wanted to do film reviews, but now I realize that blogging can be so much more than that. I love giving an opinion, and discovering new things to write about. I hope that people enjoy reading the topics that I write about. That's all I really want. :-)

3 Responses to Ms. Jackson If You’re Nasty

  1. cfvergel says:

    I want to see the movie now!

  2. Jay_Marie says:

    I am just going to be extremely extra, and reward Janet with the Entertaining Bina Award for Best Female Performance in a Tyler Perry original…. because I really have to wonder about the potential positive attention Janet would have received had her role not been an angry black woman in a TP production

    …well lucky her. It’s true tho; there is no such thing as a happy and evolved woman in a Tyler Perry production. That’s where you come in Bina. Help him out!

Leave a Reply

